3 out of 7 lifts open
Skiing huts openopen
OffersOffersBook online
Sky Line closed. Brixen Bike Park opens on June, 15
World Natural Heritages Dolomites

The perfekt viewpoint to admire the beauty of the Dolomites

On June 26, 2009 nine areas of the Dolomites have been listed as UNESCO World Natural Heritage. The Plose is one of the best viewpoints to admire the Area of Puez Geisler and Peitlerkofel/Sas de Putia.

Only about 13 km away from the motorway exit of the A22 Brenner Modena and only 7 km away from Brixen/Bressanone, there is the bottom station of the gondola lift Plose. From here you get comfortably by cable car to a height of 2000 m above sea level in a few minutes where you can enjoy a spectaculaire view of the Peitlerkofel and the peaks of the Geisler / Odle. The amazing mountains make part of the nature reserve Puez Geisler. Together with 8 other areas they have been defined World Natural Heritage. From the top station of the cable car you can choose between short distance walks and longer hikes that lead you to inviting huts where you might enjoy the beauty of these mountains and the unique atmosphere even more.

If you wish, you can even rent a mountainbike or an e-bike and reach different viewpoints and more enchanting places.

Dolomites near Brixen

Brief Synthesis why the Dolomites have been given this special status:

The nine components of The Dolomites World Heritage property protect a series of highly distinctive mountain landscapes that are of exceptional natural beauty. Their dramatic vertical and pale coloured peaks in a variety of distinctive sculptural forms is extraordinary in a global context…. (read more on

An area of about 141.910 hectare has been put under protection. 89.266 hectare more are defined buffer zone. All those areas had already been national resort, national park or area of Natura 2000 before. The areas cover 5 provinces, to be exact the following mountain zones make part of the protected area:

  • Pelmo-Croda da Lago (BL)
  • Marmolada (BL, TN)
  • Pale di San Martino, Pale di San Lucano, Dolomiti Bellunesi and Vette Feltrine (BL, TN)
  • Dolomiti Friuliane and Dolomiti d’Oltre (PN, UD)
  • Northern Dolomites (BZ, BL)
  • Puez-Geisler (BZ) – with Sas de Putia/Peitlerkofel and Geisler / Odle
  • Schlern-Rosengarten, Latemar (BZ, TN)
  • Bletterbach (BZ)
  • Dolomiti di Brenta (TN)

The UNESCO Dolomites Foundation

The main task of the UNESCO Dolomites Foundation is to protect the Dolomites. The foundation was founded on 13th of May 2010, the legal seat is located in Belluno for the first three years. After this time it will change to the other provinces. There are Branche offices in all of the provinces.